Matthew Teitelbaum

On April 23, 2009, The Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art and BMO Financial Group presented Matthew Teitelbaum, the Michael and Sonja Koerner Director, and CEO of the Art Gallery of Ontario, the MOCCA Award 2009 during a gala event at MOCCA.

The award recognizes Mr.Teitelbaum’s leadership in the completion of Transformation AGO. In an extraordinary gesture of generosity, Mr.Teitelbaum donated the $20,000 cash prize to the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art in support of their ambitious activities.

To honour Mr. Teitelbaum, each guest at the event received a limited edition artwork, created especially for the occasion by nationally renowned artist and long-time AGO advocate David Blackwood. Guests also enjoyed food from Chef Susur Lee’s internationally-acclaimed restaurants Madeline’s, Lee and Shang N.Y.C.

The evening featured the installation, Habitat (MOCCA Award), by Toronto-based artist Luis Jacob, and a special slide presentation of Edward Burtynsky’s photographs commissioned for the Transformation AGO project, 2006 – 2008. Other highlights of the evening included a presentation by Honorary Chair Carol Rapp and a live interview between Matthew Teitelbaum and media commentator Allan Gregg.


Honorary Chair
Carol Rapp

Sue Kidd
Julia Ouellette

Brenda Bent
Johnson Chou
Yvonne Fleck
Fela Grunwald
Adrienne Kirby
David Liss
Marla Schwartz
Ann-Louise Seago
Yves Theoret
Linda Young
Robin Young


Award Sponsor 
BMO Financial Group

Silver Sponsors 
EllisDon Corporation
Chef Susur Lee
Shang N.Y.C

Bronze Sponsors 
Salah Bachir
Johnson Chou
Robert Harding
Nadir + Shabin Mohamed
St. Joseph Communications
The Ouellette Family Foundation
Linda Young

Event Donors
Axa Art
HKMB Hub International
Marla and Edward Schwartz
Rosamond Ivey

Event Suppliers
Canadian Art
Cave Spring Cellars
CJ Graphics Inc.
Mark J. Mooney & Assoc. Ltd.
q media solutions
Stagevision Inc.
Tiffany & Co.
Toronto International Art Fair

Friends of Matthew
Charles Baillie
W. Geoffrey Beattie
Thomas Bjarnason
Sarah Dinnick
Linda Chu & John Donald
Angela & David Feldman
Jim & Margaret Fleck
David Fleck
Yvonne Fleck
Anthony R. Graham
Helen M. Graham
Al & Malka Green
Fela Grunwald
Victoria Jackman & Bruce Kuwabara
Michael Koerner
Phil Lind
Gordon Love
Sarah & David Macdonald
Liza Mauer
Elisa Nuyten
Carol & Morton Rapp
Laura Rapp & Jay Smith
Lynda Reeves & Michel Zelnik
Ellen Roland
Eleanor & Francis Shen
Craig Squires
Toronto International Art Fair
David & Robin Young